Home > APFP > Paediatric fellows > Past Self-funded fellows
African Paediatric Fellowship Programme

Past Self-funded fellows

Dr Gwendoline Kandawasvika (Zimbabwe)

Program EEG Training (Neurology)
Period 28 April 2014 – 24 May 2014

Dr Sarah-Diane Jones (Canada)

Program Paediatric Trauma
Period 7 April 2014 – 4 May 2014

Dr N Katharanathan (Netherlands)

Program Paediatric Critical Care
Period 1 March 2014 to 28 August 2014

Dr Minca Mramor (Slovenia)

Program Medical Officer
Period 6 March 2014 – 28 June 2014

Dr Kris Kang (Canada)

Program MPhil Training (ICU)
Period 17 January 2014 – 30 June 2014

Dr Jeroen Poos (Netherlands)

Program Paediatric Trauma
Period 4 October 2013 – 17 January 2014

Dr Augustina Okpere (Nigeria)

Program MPhil Training (Nephrology)
Period 16 September 2013 – 16 March 2014
Dr Mohammad Ahmad

Dr Mohammad Ahmad (Nigeria)

Program EEG Training (Neurology)
Period 9 November 2013 – 31 January 2014

Dr Habiba Lawal (Nigeria)

Program EEG Training (Neurology)
Period 29 August 2013 to 29 November 2013

Dr Laura B. Lewandowski (USA)

Program Rheumatology
Period 1 Sep 2013 to 31 Aug 2015
Dr Laura B. Lewandowski is a paediatrician pursuing a combined fellowship training at Duke University Medical Center in paediatric rheumatology and international health. Her project is a collaborative effort between Duke University and the Red Cross Children's Hospital  in Cape Town, South Africa. which is the only free standing children's hospital on the continent of Africa. She will be returning to Cape Town this fall to continue her yearlong research project. Her research focuses on systemic lupus erythematosus, a life threatening autoimmune disease, in the paediatric population. She is currently describing the patient population with lupus in Cape Town. She then will be working to improve care for children with lupus in South Africa by using a patient care checklist.

Dr Patience Obiagwu  (Nigeria)

Program MPhil (Nephrology)
Period 12 August 2013 - 31 January 2014

Dr Peter Okunola (Nigeria)

Program EEG Training (Neurology)
Period 1 May 2013 to 30 June 2013

Dr Wilson Osarogiagbon  (Nigeria)

Program MPhil (Pulmonology)
Period 1 March 2013 to 31 August 2013
Dr Wilson Osarogiagbon won the Pfizer award at the South African Thoracic Society for Best paper Paediatric Pulmonology Poster Presentation at The Ithemba Le Afrika Congress 2013 held at Sun City, South Africa from 6 June to 9 June 2013.

Dr Adaobi Solarin  (Nigeria)

Program MPhil (Nephrology)
Period 18 February 2013 to 28 February 2014

Dr IO Odetunde (Nigeria)

Program MPhil (Nephrology)
Period 21 April 2011 to 31 December 2011

Dr N Iduoriyekemwen (Nigeria)

Program MPhil (Nephrology)
Period 01 March 2011 - 30 November 2011

Dr John Appiah (Ghana)

Program Paediatric Critical Care
Period 1 March 2011 - 28 February 2013